Teaching Children's Literature

“A children's story that can only be enjoyed by children is not a good children's story in the slightest.” ~C.S. Lewis

Books That Matter: Amelia Bedelia

 

 

 

9780060843571I do not have one particular Amelia Bedelia book that I enjoy more than the other, but this series is definitely a series that mattered to me.  My mom and dad would read out loud to me and my siblings every night before bed.  We would take turns choosing which books we wanted them to read and most of those times, my brother and I would both choose an Amelia Bedelia book.  Our household was always full of fun and laughter and I feel like Amelia Bedelia fit right in with my family’s personality.  It was just like she was a member of the family with her goofy antics.  Even before I understood the humor of these books, I would laugh every time my brother laughed pretending I would know why it was funny.  My brother now has an 18 month daughter whose name is Amelia.  The first book I bought her was an Amelia Bedelia book because I know these books will be special for her because of her name.  I want her to be able to enjoy them as much as we did growing up.

2 comments on “Books That Matter: Amelia Bedelia

  1. miansmall
    May 27, 2013

    Oh how I loved Amelia Bedelia…one memory that has stuck with me for nearly two decades is when Amelia was asked to strip the bed, but instead she got a pair of scissors and cut the bed sheets into strips. Hilarious.

  2. kristinconradi
    May 27, 2013

    Great post! What a wonderful picture–the idea that your whole family read together! I didn’t encounter Amelia Bedelia till I was older and I’ve certainly appreciated the humor now, but I also identify with it. My father was from Norway (and we lived there for most of elementary school). I think my parents avoided idiomatic use of language around each other (in English and Norwegian, respectively) and –as a result–we missed it as well. My friends still laugh at me b/c I often mess up (“putting all my chickens in one basket….etc). :0

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on May 27, 2013 by in Books That Matter, Uncategorized.

NCSU Teaching KidLit

The Horn Book

