Teaching Children's Literature

“A children's story that can only be enjoyed by children is not a good children's story in the slightest.” ~C.S. Lewis

Junie B. Jones

junie b

 

When I was little, my mother would read a chapter of a Junie B. Jones book to me every night before I went to bed. I don’t think I have a specific favorite Junie B. Jones book, but I love those books. My mother would read those books to me with such expression, that I discovered how much I loved books at a very young age. I would often beg her to continue reading chapter after chapter each night. As a result, I have continued to read Junie B. Jones books to my students in my first grade classroom, and they seem to enjoy her just as much as I did as a young child.

One comment on “Junie B. Jones

  1. miansmall
    May 27, 2013

    I have never read Junie B. Jones books; however, I am familiar with the high-interest factor because a solid number of my middle school students speak about the times they read them in elementary.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on May 26, 2013 by in Books That Matter.

NCSU Teaching KidLit

The Horn Book

