Teaching Children's Literature

“A children's story that can only be enjoyed by children is not a good children's story in the slightest.” ~C.S. Lewis

Books That Matter

The Jolly Postman

Every night as a child I would get to pick out three bedtime stories to read! The Jolly Postman by Allan & Janet Ahlberg was always one of my choices. The main attraction I had to this book was the interactive component of it. Taking out each letter and reading it felt like I was the one receiving a letter. I was familiar with all of the classic characters that the author’s integrated into the text, which added to the enjoyment of reading this book. My dad would help me try and write letters to my relatives that lived in Ohio so that I could be like to Jolly Postman. I remember after years of reading the book that I lost one of the letters and got so upset. My dad replaced my lost letter by writing his own version and placing it into the book! My dad would read in different funny voices for each of the characters in the book. This book really reminds me of my special bedtime routine that I had with my dad as a little girl.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on May 26, 2013 by in Uncategorized.

NCSU Teaching KidLit

The Horn Book

