Teaching Children's Literature

“A children's story that can only be enjoyed by children is not a good children's story in the slightest.” ~C.S. Lewis

Books that Matter: Goodnight Moon

Cover of "Goodnight Moon"

Cover of Goodnight Moon

I was a lucky child because even though my parents were very young when I was born, they were both in college at the University of Pittsburgh and constantly reading. They read for school, they read to each other, and they read to me every day. One book that mattered to me as a child was Goodnight Moon by Margaret Wise Brown. My mother read this book to me every single night. Many young children will request the same book to be read aloud over and over, but it this case it was my mom who insisted on reading Goodnight Moon each night. When I was five years old my parents graduated from Pitt and we moved back to our hometown of Syracuse, NY. Goodnight Moon was was packed away in a box and forgotten in the depths of my grandparents’ basement. Many years later, when I was a teenager, my grandparents requested that I go through the boxes and decide what old toys and books I would like to donate. I came across Goodnight Moon and was instantly transported to a different time and place. I read about the bowl of mush and the old lady saying “hush,” about saying goodnight to the comb and the balloon. The book seemed to me to possess magical qualities, and although it had been 8 or 9 years since I had heard it, I remembered every single word. When I asked my mom about the book, she said that she began reading it to me every night when I was first born, before I could even understand the words. This book will always hold a special place in my heart, and is one that I plan to someday read to my own children.

One comment on “Books that Matter: Goodnight Moon

  1. kristinconradi
    May 26, 2013

    What a wonderful post, Brittany! (And what a classic book!). Crazy how books can transport us back to a specific feeling and context. Thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on May 26, 2013 by in Books That Matter, Uncategorized.

NCSU Teaching KidLit

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

The Horn Book

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

