Teaching Children's Literature

“A children's story that can only be enjoyed by children is not a good children's story in the slightest.” ~C.S. Lewis

Books that Matter: Muffin Mouse

When I think of a children’s book that really mattered to me as a child, Muffin Mouse’s New House by Lawrence Di Fiori immediately comes to mind. There were so many things about this book that appealed to me as a little girl. It is a story about a mouse whose home is destroyed in a storm and her friend advises her to move into a teapot. I loved hosting tea parties when I was a little girl, and I loved imagining that a little mouse might want to live in my own teapot!

Also, when I was a little girl I loved to use my imagination, especially when I would play with my dollhouse. I was very particular about laying out the furniture for my dolls, so reading a book about a mouse who was just as particular about her home made me really connect to the story.

Another reason why I love this book so much, especially when I was a child, is because I associate it with my mom. As the youngest of four children and the only girl, reading stories like this was purely “me-and-mom” time. My brothers had no interest in this story, but I would ask my mom to read it to me over and over until the pages frayed and the binding came undone – a sure sign of a well-read and well-loved book!

And finally, this book meant a lot to me because it was visually captivating. The illustrations are so detailed and do an excellent job of supporting the storyline, especially because I couldn’t read the words! Also, the book is sort of in the shape of a teapot, which i thought was so cool (and fun to hold). Muffin Mouse’s New House remains a treasured favorite – it is the first book that I really remember hooking me into wanting to know how to read, and it nourished my already wild imagination!

Image

One comment on “Books that Matter: Muffin Mouse

  1. mkliebfr
    May 24, 2013

    Your comments about this book reinforce how important children’s literature can be in our lives! You also bring up good points about the social importance of books and how they can be experienced differently by different genders. As teachers we need to think about our students interests when selecting books.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on May 23, 2013 by in Books That Matter.

NCSU Teaching KidLit

The Horn Book

