Teaching Children's Literature

“A children's story that can only be enjoyed by children is not a good children's story in the slightest.” ~C.S. Lewis

A Book that Mattered

A book that made a difference to me was the Dr. Suess book, If I Ran the Circus.  This was one of the first books I read with my older son.  We began reading it when he was 4 months old.  We would lay on our backs and I would hold the book up as I read.  He was mesmerized by the pictures and I think he liked the sound of the rhyming text.  I believe it was when he first developed a love of books.  He always enjoyed being read to and as he got older he became an avid reader.  Those days lying on the floor with him were very special to me and to him.  They hold very special memories for me and that book was the first one I remember us spending a lot of time reading.  LL

One comment on “A Book that Mattered

  1. mkliebfr
    May 24, 2013

    Books create a space for connecting with our loved ones-especially young children. Thank you for sharing this personal story. Literacy is cultivated by a print rich environment and this exposure can promote the lifelong love of reading.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on May 23, 2013 by in Uncategorized.

NCSU Teaching KidLit

The Horn Book

